My Life as a White Trash Zombie – Diana Rowland

My Life as a White Trash Zombie (White Trash Zombie, #1)

I have to be honest, I picked this up in a sale and did not expect much. While I enjoyed the pop culture fun of the cover and the title it didn’t inspire me to rush out and purchase the book. On the surface I thought it would be a recycled romance with zombies to make it so very slightly different from the rash of vampire romance books. Anyway, I did pick it up, and while I will say that it probably will not become a classic, this was a funny and well thought out book. It was enjoyable and I already picked up the next in the series

Is it crass? A bit but not as much as I would have expected with a title of “My Life as a White Trash Zombie” . Is it gross? Somewhat, but it’s not page after page of zombies massacring the masses. It is about zombies, however, if there isn’t some brain eating it would be odd. There is mild swearing and sexual material, but it’s not really a romance. It is a coming of age zombie mystery.

Angel is our protagonist and she is, in her words, a loser. She is a high school drop out with alcohol and pill addictions who lives most of time with her on and off again loser boyfriend. She does this so she doesn’t have to go home to her alcoholic abusive father. She wakes up in the hospital from an overdose to find herself to very changed. This book explores how she learns she is a zombie and what it means for her future. It changes her life and is probably the only thing that could have spurred her to get and keep a job and see possibilities for her future.

The book is a lot of fun. Allison McLemore narrated it. She does a great job with Angel’s character. Her interpretation of male characters is not great but certainly not the worst I’ve heard. It is my preference to listen to the audible version but certainly others have not liked it. My recommendation is to listen to the snippet audible gives you. If you are ok with her interpretation of Angel you will most likely be ok with the narration.

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

7 responses to “My Life as a White Trash Zombie – Diana Rowland

Comments: Tell me what you think

