Ready Player One – Ernest Cline

Ready Player One

I love this book in so many ways. The hype is justified. Those who recommended it to me I owe a debt of gratitude to. Now that I have gushed and gotten it out of my system… for the most part, I have to do my part and tell others to drink from the fountain. Truly, it is a great book, but you do have to love pop culture, sci-fi, gaming, movies, and TV to get the most out of it. I have friends who would not enjoy this but the sci-fi fantasy geek in me couldn’t love it more. I’m not a gamer, so if you haven’t picked this up because you thought you would miss out on too much if you aren’t one, I’m here to tell you that you should still enjoy it if you have love for any of the other things listed above. Also, if you have any basic knowledge of computers and gaming you’ll get a lot of the references.

Wade is a high school kid who lives in “The Stacks”(a futuristic version of a trailer park.) He is not blessed with a loving family or wealth but through his own survivalist instincts and intelligence has gotten by on his ability to fix computer and Oasis software. The Oasis is an online community where almost everyone spends their time since the real world is less than desirable to spend any time in. There are limited jobs, limited fossil fuels and resources, and mass pollution. Wade and everyone else is competing to find an easter egg in the Oasis. This egg is a ticket to inheriting the wealth of the Oasis’s creator who died.

It’s more complicated and gripping than what is listed above. I love the scoreboards top five, our main characters. The book explores the effects of living in a fantasy world and not living in the real world. It also looks at evil corporations taking control of all facets of life and technology, big brother, and ineffectual government. Sounds dark. It isn’t really. It’s terribly funny. I finished it and immediately listened to it a second time. I listened to it on Audible and the narrator is Will Wheaton. No one could be more appropriate. I thought for a moment it could have been Shatner, John Cusack, or Matthew Broderick but by the time I finished it I decided that truly Will Wheaton is the ultimate choice, did the book perfect justice, and added to the experience. All I can say is enjoy!

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

2 responses to “Ready Player One – Ernest Cline

Comments: Tell me what you think

