Storm Front: Dresden Files Book 1 – Jim Butcher

Storm Front (The Dresden Files, #1)

James Marsters does a wonderful job narrating this book. I had gotten this to read long and far away and kept getting distracted away from it. James Marsters interpretation kept me interested and got me hooked. Harry Dresden, our PI wizard is a lovely curmudgeon on nobodies good list. He’s being hunted by an evil wizard, burning bridges with the police he consults with, offending potential love interests and journalists, interfering with mob bosses, and being suspected of being a dark wizard by the White counsel. You can’t help but wish this poor bastard could catch a break. Enjoy this, its fun, but don’t look for some great world building or magic system. It is a bit like candy – enjoyable but not terrible filling. That being said, who doesn’t like candy?

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

2 responses to “Storm Front: Dresden Files Book 1 – Jim Butcher

  • Lisa

    I love the Dresden series — and I do gobble the books up like candy. (My bookish equivalent of jelly beans, I think). I think the world-building and magic in the series are pretty awesome, but I think maybe that becomes more evident as you move deeper into the series. I’ve been wanting to give the audiobooks a try, since I have a longstanding and not-so-secret crush on James Marsters. Glad to hear you enjoyed him as a book narrator!

    Like

    • stephswint

      I loved the narration, but I didn’t have a preconceived idea in my head. I sometimes have a hard time with authors I read first. Check out the snippet they give you on audible – you can check that out for free. If that sounds ok to you I bet you will like it.

      Like

Comments: Tell me what you think

