The Golem and the Jinni – Helene Wecker

The Golem and the Jinni

I can’t put my finger on why this book feels comforting but it created that feeling in me. Do not miss this book, it is wonderful. I will listen to it over and over again. It is going in my favorite books of all time. The narrator fit the story perfectly. The Golem and the Jinni has me searching through audible’s list of books George Guidall has narrated and impatiently waiting for Helene Wecker to write another book.

My first line of this review states that I found the book comforting. I have to say I do not know why. This book deals with immigrants traveling and starting life in America. There is a lot of turmoil in the human characters as well as the Golem and the Jinni. There is something wonderful about the use of legend and mysticism in this book. The magic in the book is well researched and lends to these mystical beings being just as displaced as any other immigrant and finding their way to create a life in America. In some ways being mystical really is little different, many immigrants  in a strange land and cling to what community they have; searching for something or someone like them.

The twists and turns in this book are enjoyable. I loved learning the back story of how the Golem was created and the history of the Jinni. You learn of this as it is relevant to the current/main story. I don’t want to give anything away. Read this book or listen to this book. You won’t regret it. I have to say I am sure I would have loved the book if I read it but Helene Wecker’s writing and George Guidall’s narration complement one another so well that I am grateful I got it on Audible. I think George Guidall enhanced the experience.

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

Comments: Tell me what you think

