The Likeness: Dublin Murder Squad #2 – Tana French

The Likeness (Dublin Murder Squad, #2)

This is a very engaging book. I read it out of order. I learned Into the Woods is the first book. It reads well as a stand alone as well. It’s engaging and kept me guessing all the way through for a number of reasons.

The story is about a cop in Ireland who used to work  the under cover division.  She goes under again after a murder takes place.  The reason: the victim has a remarkable likeness to our main character.

The main character is likable and due to issues from a previous investigation is dealing with a large amount of stress.  She was not ready to go under cover. You go through her attachment to her new housemates and slowly watch her go native during this assignment. A large part of the drama is how she deals with the attachments to her housemates but also to the woman she is impersonating.

Heather O’Neill is a fantastic narrator on audible for this book if you want to got that route.   She does the accents really well.

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

4 responses to “The Likeness: Dublin Murder Squad #2 – Tana French

  • Faithful Place – Tana French | Bookish

    […] previously reviewed Tana French’s “The Likeness” , and enjoyed it,  but I developed a sick attachment for ‘Faithful Place.’  This is […]

    Like

  • MadProfessah

    If you liked The Likeness you are in for a treat. Most people consider her other books, especially In The Woods and Faithful Place. I never recommend reading the books out of order.

    Tana French is unusual in the mystery genre in that her books really can work as stand-alone novels, primarily because the detective/protagonist changes in each book, but there is a sequential element to them ( presumably the stuff in Book 1 happened before the stuff in Book 5, but to different characters!

    Glad to find a blog by someone who reads scifi AND mystery!

    Like

    • Steph

      Absolutely I read sci-fi and mystery! I’m glad you do to. My favorite by French is Faithful Place. What’s yours?

      Like

      • MadProfessah

        I think Faithful Place is my favorite as well, although it is hard to replicate the sense of wonder and joy during the first read of In The Woods. I thought The Likeness was a great sequel.

        I’m glad that she brought back Stephen for a second time in The Secret Place (bizarre she used “Place” in two titles… I would have gone with simply The Secret or perhaps the The Secret Spot) but it is probably her least enjoyable of her books that I have read.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments: Tell me what you think

