Theft of Swords: The Riyria Revelation #1 – Michael J. Sullivan

Theft of Swords (The Riyria Revelations, #1-2)

So lets start with my favorite things about this book. It is adult fantasy, and when I say adult I do not mean it is a romance with a few vampires mixed in to be able to loosely call it fantasy. This is not to say I don’t enjoy a romance from time to time or YA fantasies but it is refreshing that the fantasy has a strong plot and is not entrenched in the romance to keep the story going.

The book is classic in its structure. You have your thieves who somehow get involved with saving the royal family and the kingdom. You have commoners who have historical royal or noble connections, and you have magic. You may think I am belittling this when I say it that way but I’m not. This story has its own twists and turns and you do have to pay attention.

It is worth the read, and I’m excited that it is an epic fantasy. This is a long story and has several more long installments. It does not appear to be Wheel of Time epic but I think that is more than ok. I loved the Wheel of Time series but it is quite the commitment to say the least.

Read this because the characters are strong. None of them are perfect but you don’t hate them either. They just have their own little peccadilloes. Neither the women or men are stereotypical versions of their gender roles. Thank heavens! You don’t have to worry if you have a teenager reading the books that you will be disappointed by what they might inadvertently absorb.

The narrator Tim Gerald Reynolds did a fantastic job. I believe this is one I might prefer to listen to than read, but not having read it first, I can’t be sure. He is very good at differentiating his characters, and he has quite a few, so that is saying something.

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

2 responses to “Theft of Swords: The Riyria Revelation #1 – Michael J. Sullivan

Comments: Tell me what you think

