To Say Nothing of the Dog: or How we Found The Bishops Birdstump at Last – Connie Willis

 

To Say Nothing of the Dog (Oxford Time Travel, #2)

Victorian Science Fiction Fun

The book is fun. The narrator of the audible version is fabulous, and it leaves you feeling good. What more could one ask for?

If you are a Connie Willis fan I rank this above ‘The Doomsday Book,’ and only slightly under ‘All Clear’ and ‘Blackout.’ I think the only reason I rank it slightly lower than the other two is because I prefer World War II history. The book is a perfect piece for Victorian England. It is full of class structure, ladies having the audacity to want to read books and become modern rather than focus on the latest gossip at tea and discuss the creation of a new frock. While you are experiencing this it is also being experienced by time traveling historians on a chase to find an artifact and return items that should not have been removed from the past. It could or could not disturb the balance of the space-time continuum.

…think period piece/mystery novel/science fiction. Sounds fun, right? Well, it is. Not so science fiction that you would liken it to Dr. Who but you do get to play around with the “wibbly wobbly timey wimey” stuff. There is a lot of British humor and the book makes fun of its self. This is something I appreciate in an author.

Steven Crossely really did a fantastic job. This one I had with whispersync and I would definitely go audible. Tossie is a bit annoying and silly but Connie Willis intends her to be so and his interpretation of Dunworthy is award-winning.

A bit of a warning, however, if you don’t particularly like British humor or get bored with period pieces this may not be for you.

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

Comments: Tell me what you think

