World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War – Max Brooks

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War

World War Z is not your run of the mill zombie novel. Max Brooks takes you into the perspective of a reporter who interviews various military and political leaders, soldiers, regular people, and feral children. This gives you a broad picture of what an impact the zombie plague had on the world population. It takes on a realistic flavor rather than the fantastic. Normally, I am not a fan of short story compilations but the way the stories tie into one another it does not feel disconnected or separate.

The narration of World War Z is nothing short of amazing. Each piece is told by skilled actors. The combination of the strong writing with the masterful narration evokes a powerful emotional response. There is a section that discusses a military unit that has a dog and a soldier partnered. This section caused me to tear up a bit. I am not usually one to cry.

I was wary to purchase this and it sat in my wish list for a long time. I don’t get abridged books but after reading the reviews by those who had read the book and listened to this version I learned the audio problems have been rectified, missing sections have been added, and the parts cut out are minimal and do not affect the story. I will probably still read the book but I wouldn’t miss out on this narration. It truly is amazing.

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

Comments: Tell me what you think

