A Memory of Light: Wheel of Time 14 – Brandon Sanderson/Robert Jordon

A Memory of Light (Wheel of Time, #14)

This book did not disappoint. Brandon Sanderson did well completing Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. He tied up all loose ends and left no characters without closure.

It took me a while to pick up this book knowing it was the last. With a series like this the books become more like a friend, and a good friend at that. I did not want to have my own closure with the series, so I put reading it off. I also read it much slower than I normally would. It is with sadness that I finished the book but also one of contentment that the book and really the end of an epic was dealt with such respect.

The book is one big battle, but it is the Last Battle and I think it is what any reader would have expected. It is fought on multiple fronts with our favorite General’s – Bryne, Iturlade, Rhuarc, Lan, Egwene, Elayne, Perrin, Rand, Matt, etc. Sanderson did a great job not leaving anyone out. It seems a bit daunting that this battle quite literally takes the space of 1000 pages but if you have read the series it is as it should be. the Last Battle is epic, and Thom and Laoil are our witnesses/bards/warriors to document it.

Enjoy it. I know I did, even if I’m grieving over the fact it really is over

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

2 responses to “A Memory of Light: Wheel of Time 14 – Brandon Sanderson/Robert Jordon

  • Rabindranauth

    Well said 🙂 Even though I had only read this series for the first time last August, it’s amazing how big an impact it had on me.

    Like

  • stephswint

    I read it over several years…clearly:) I went through despair and frustration when Jordan died, fear at someone taking over, skepticism and acceptance of Sanderson after reading Mistborn….sounds like the stages of grief:) Thank you for liking the review

    Like

Comments: Tell me what you think

