The Lies of Locke Lamora – Scott Lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)

You can’t help but love, the Gentleman Bastards, the band of merry thieves this book is centered around. You follow a group of orphans no one wanted that are raised by a thief/priest to be essentially con artists, the elite of their thieving world. 

Scott Lynch did a great job. There are two things I thought were rare and done very well. One was he did a great job of creating anxiety in the reader. He develops concern in the reader for his characters. Sometimes you are ahead in the story of our main characters because of design set up of the book.   Some chapters are side stories outside of the main timeline. Some reviews have stated they found this confusing but I thought it worked. He also has no qualms about killing off characters you are attached to. This made me emotional but I think it is good for an author to do. Lynch is gutsy and unpredictable. There were twists and turns I didn’t see coming. It was refreshing.

The beginning is a touch slow but picks up pace significantly. I had thought about getting this in an audible format and chose not to because I was not a fan of the narrator based off the preview snippet you can listen to. It may have gotten better but I’m glad I read this one. I liked taking the time to savor it.

The world building is good. It is a grittier version of fantasy, although not ‘Game of Thrones’ gritty. It is a good middle ground. There is some swearing but it’s not overdone. It is not sexually explicit. I would have no qualms about a teenager reading it if you are ok with a moderate to low level of profanity. Also, while I would say I wouldn’t have a problem with a teenager reading it, it is not YA fiction.  Sometimes its just a breath of fresh air to find some fantasy written for adults even if I don’t mind the YA genre.

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

2 responses to “The Lies of Locke Lamora – Scott Lynch

Comments: Tell me what you think

