The Rook (The Checquy Files #1) – Daniel O’Malley

The Rook (The Checquy Files, #1)

I listened to the audible version of this book and Susan Duerden did a fantastic job narrating  it.  I have listened to it several times, and have enjoyed it every time. It is the perfect blend of government mystery and fantasy – two genres I love.  It is fast paced and kept me guessing.

As mentioned above,  the book is a fantasy government intrigue. There are parts that are really funny as you experience our main character learn about herself, her job, and her life through letters.  Our main character wakes up battered and bruised and with no idea who she is. This is not the typical amnesiac experience as our main character is a high level official at a secret government agency in London,  and because she is actually a new inhabitant replaced in Myfanwy Thomas’s body.  She also inherited Myfanwy’s problems which she learned when she woke up with two black eyes..  I mentioned that she learns about Myfanwy’s life through letters…from Myfanwy herself.  Myfanwy knew this was going to happen but not why.  The story is told from the perspectives of both women of the body.  This is urban and paranormal fiction.  If you do not have a taste for this genre you won’t like this, but if you are ok with it I’m willing to bet you will enjoy it.  The Rook is written for an adult audience and is focused on self discovery and the mystery!  This also has a bit of a Doctor Who feel in its sense of humor.

I found this book highly entertaining. I am waiting for more from Daniel O’Malley…and I’m getting a bit impatient.  I love new authors but I hate waiting.  I sometimes  don’t actually start a book  until a sequel is written to avoid such problems.  …I did not do this and I currently stalk his blog for news of his progress on the’ The Checquy Files’.  Incidentally, his blog did lead me in the direction of ‘The Rivers of London’ series by Ben Aaronovitch and I couldn’t be more grateful.  You can check out my reviews on that series in my older posts if this type of thing tickles your fancy.

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

Comments: Tell me what you think

