The Deaths of Tao (Tao #2) – Wesley Chu

The Deaths of Tao (Tao, #2)

Thank heavens for book two! That being said, we’ve missed Jill’s and Roen’s wedding, honeymoon, and Prophus success. Not only did we miss the wedding we also missed Roen and Jill having a child, Cameron. 

This is the sequel to ‘The Lives of Tao.’  If you haven’t read it, I would go and read it prior to reading this book.  Chu is a fairly new author but has made quite and impression with the Tao series, many in the science fiction community have loved it.

The book starts with Jill and Roen being separated and Cameron living with Jill’s parents. …The life of a prophus agent with an alien living inside you isn’t easy…

I enjoyed the first book so much I devoured it and was left impatient. This time around I took it slowly to savor it. It was difficult but I did enjoy it and got to enjoy it for longer.

In this book we learn a lot more about Jill and her part in the Prophus plans and her relationship to Baji (the resident alien in her until death do they part.) She works in politics in Washington while Roen is the secret agent he so wished to become. He, however, is now skilled and capable in his own right, not just because of Tao’s guidance.

The Prophus/Genjix war has continued and the Prophus are losing badly. Gone are the days of jet setting and immaculate stocked safe houses. They barely have enough money for ammunitions and Roen/Tao have gone off the grid because they believe there are deeper conspiracies.

This book is enjoyable. Anyone who read the first book will have to read it. Chu has a great sense of humor and I couldn’t help laughing out loud at various bits. I highly recommend it, but that does not mean I believe it or ‘The Lies of Tao’ are perfect.  There are some flaws to the writing, but the sense of humor and action involved suck you in and allow you to look over its minor faults.  It will leave you wanting when you finish. Just like the first book Chu gives a very juicy twist at the end.

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

Comments: Tell me what you think

