“Books On Tap For The Month” May

You all kindly helped me cow “The Guilt Beast” regarding my ‘To Be Read List’.  Thank you for all the wonderful suggestions I received.

As a result, I am adding a new feature “Books On Tap For The Month.”  I’m sure I will slide some books in that I pick up in a fickle mood (usually through audible), but this feature (I’m purposely not using the word list) is what I’m committing to reading in May.  I’m excited for them.  Read below and you will see why.

The Buried Life – Carrie Patel  Publish Date Set Angry Robot for June 29, 2014

WHY I REQUESTED IT:

The book is set in an Underground City called Recoletta.  This city is a steam punk modern day Victorian culture filled with bureaucracy and set social class structures.  The rich being very rich and the poor being very poor.  Carrie Patel’s mystery surrounds stolen information in a city where information and especially historical information are controlled at all costs.  The investigators work for an agency that is independent and hired by contract in a world tightly controlled by government agencies.  If you enjoy history, I liken it to the Pinkerton’s.  

I’m currently half way through and enjoying it.  I would place it somewhere between Cassandra Clare’s ‘Infernal Devices Series” and China Mieville’s ‘Perdido Street Station’ subtracting supernatural elements.  It is darker than Clare but not as dark as Mieville, likewise, it is not as young as Clare and not as adult as Mieville. Adult for me is not code for erotica.

The White List – Nina D’Aleo – Published by Momentum Books on May 13, 2014

WHY I REQUESTED IT:

Want to work for an intelligence agency where you don’t have any rules? Do you want to have access to the best information Big Brother can give you?  If so, Chapter 11 is hiring. – Just one catch… you can never quit.

Chapter 11 is the agency that watches over the third of the population that exhibits Shaman Syndrome.  This manifests itself in carriers with abilities that are uncontrollable.  Someone in Chapter 11, however, is looking for the master list of anyone with the mutation of Shaman Syndrome for their own needs and purposes.  Silver, our protagonist, must find out who it is, especially after a price is put on her head for looking into it.

A dystopian society, over reaching government agencies, and a mystery…why on earth wouldn’t I pick this up?  It sounds fascinating.

Dawn of the White Light – Robert M. K. Turner Publish date set by Troubador Publishing Ltd. April 14, 2014

WHY I REQUESTED IT:

Over 100 million years ago, something came to earth, something which could be argued is older than time.  It took millions of years but something has caused it to become active again.

Andy Salter is an artist and all around normal guy, but after a watercolour painting of an ancient abbey is commissioned Andy becomes obsessed with the abbey’s hidden secrets.  His nightmares and fascination force him to face his ultimate nemesis and demons in a realm of pure evil.  The book is described to combine historical and Sci-Fi elements.  Two genres I love.

I am 30 percent through the book and it has had trouble holding my attention.  I am hoping that once the set up is complete the pace and my interest will pick up.

 

 

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

5 responses to ““Books On Tap For The Month” May

  • Mogsy

    I would be very interested to see what you think of The Buried Life when you review it. I held off requesting it because I saw a blurb describing the book to China Mieville, which implies it should be a bit…weird 🙂 Weird is hit or miss for me, and as intrigued as I am by this book, I probably want to wait and see!

    Like

    • stephswint

      So far I wouldn’t go so far as classifying it in the “New Weird” – I like Mieville’s work but not all of it. It’s in between Clare and Mievelle, but let me be honest… there is a huge amount of space between the two. I will let you know when I am done:)

      Like

  • lynnsbooks

    I also looked at The Buried Life but wasn’t sure it would be for me so it will be great to get your thoughts.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  • Recniky

    So glad I found your site! You’ve whetted my appetite for these books!

    Like

Comments: Tell me what you think

