“Whispers Under Ground” – Ben Aaronovitch

Whispers Under Ground by Ben Aaronovitch

Ben Aaronovitch has not lost his touch and did a wonderful job with Whispers Under Ground. I finished this book and promptly listened to it a second time. I didn’t think I could do justice to my review, and let’s be honest, I just wanted to listen to it a second time. Kobno Holdbrook-Smith narrates this on Audible, if you have already listened to the first two of the series, you know he is an amazing narrator. He does remarkably with the characters, both with being able to do the accents but also with picking up on the personality, humor, and sarcasm Aaronovitch gave them. I wish every book and narrator were so well matched.

In Whispers under ground Peter, Leslie, and Nightengale are searching for the “Little Crocodiles” (ethically challenged magical practitioners that are rogue and not keeping the Queens Peace – Peter takes objection to Nightengale calling them black magicians.) They also are working with the murder squad to determine who murdered a young man with a bit of magically imbued pottery in the underground. This opens our team up to investigating the London Underground and sewers. Oh, how I want to now take a trip to London and take a tour of the underground!

Leslie is back, and you get to experience Peter and Leslie develop their friendship after the tragic deformation of her face. Peter is far more sensitive than we would have believed in the past, and its great to see these two characters grow, especially since Leslie is a perfect counter to Peter.  We also meet some extraordinarily funny and perfect CI characters that we will see again in Broken Homes.

It does have profanity, but its situation appropriate. There isn’t sex in this book unlike the last in the series. In my opinion, it wouldn’t be an issue for a teenage crowd to read as long as you are comfortable with some profanity.

The book is delightful. I honestly don’t know if it is the best written book, I really wasn’t paying attention because I was so drawn into the book, but its one of my favorites. It’s humorous, it has the necessary one liners of a police detective novel, and the brash characters needed with Sewall and Stefanopolis. It’s delicious.  I have to say this is my favorite of the series, and as I not so patiently wait for the next installment of  ‘The Rivers of London’ series, I decided to visit and old friend.

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

2 responses to ““Whispers Under Ground” – Ben Aaronovitch

Comments: Tell me what you think

