Liebster Award – Part 2

liebster

Yes, I did already complete a Liebster Award nomination already, and no I’m not trying to toot my own horn, but I figure if  people out there are nice enough to nominate me I can certainly respond.

I’m not a fan of chain letters, I feel they are guilt driven, and in a way I do feel some of these  awards are a like a chain letter.  If you send me a chain letter I won’t respond, if you send a me a facebook post and ask me to put  a word down to tell you how we met I won’t respond. I will risk the potential bad luck.  So, let me tell you why I still participate in these award things.  It facilitates a process for us to learn about other blogs we might enjoy.  I’ve found some of my favorites by reading the blogs that my friends read and liked through the Liebster or Inspiring Blogger awards.  It also gives a process to learn a little bit more about the bloggers.  I enjoy this insight.  Not all of us blog about our  personal lives.  I don’t, but I like learning about your life and the things you care about outside the main focus of your blog.

I like finding people as obsessive about books as I am all over the world, I love that.  As an example, The Law and The Reader, in a discussion about ‘Deathless’ by Cathrynne Valente notified me she could help translate Russian words in the book.  Well, this made me terribly excited because I recently read the ‘Night Watch” books by Sergei Lukyavenko and loved them.  It set a fire in me to read more Russian Fantasy and Sci Fi.  I don’t speak Russian and have had trouble finding these books translated into English.  I’m so excited to read some of her suggestions.  That would never have happend if I hadn’t found her in the Blogverse.

So, I have to say a big thank you to Bibliosa and The Law and the Reader.  Thank you for nominating me.  If you have not checked out their blogs.  I highly recommend that you do so.  They both blog about books.  Something I clearly have a love for.

Rules are:

1) Answer 11 questions about myself;

2) Ask your nominees 11 questions;

3) Nominate 11 blogs to pass on the award by linking to their blog and then letting them know about the nomination.

Questions:

1) If you could live in any fictional ‘verse, beside Harry Potter, what would it be?

  • This is a hard question, most of the books I love are not happy places to live.  I love the Mistborn-Brandon Sanderson and Farseer- Robin Hobb books but their ‘Verse’s’ aren’t very happy places.  It causes a bit of concern for me.  Hmmmm…

2) Have you gotten around to A Song of Ice and Fire series?

  • I read the first book (and please don’t stone me)  I wasn’t a huge fan.  I have some issues with the amount of sexual violence that Martin brings into a fantasy environment.  It’s interesting because if it was historical fiction I wouldn’t have an issue with it.  I understand the need for violence in fantasy but the frequency of sexual violence and the fact it becomes very common causes me concern.  After all, in Fantasy, the author brings in what they choose to their world they create – it’s not based on fact.  I might feel differently if it was handled seriously, was a key factor in character motivation and development, or was more than a brief action scene.  Aside from that, I didn’t fall in love with the writing immediately like Robin Hobb’s, Brandon Sanderson, or Neal Stephensen, etc.  I’ve found other series I love more.  If I had found it earlier, maybe….

3) Do you prefer to see people or art on the book covers?

  • 100% art.  I find all to often the photography to be cheesy – but that is not to say there aren’t some seriously cheesy art covers out there – check out some 1980’s sci fi/fantasy book covers:)

4) Do you listen to music while you read?

  • I do just about everything while I read.  I watch TV, listen to music.  If I’m listening to a book I listen while I work on the more mundane tasks of my job, while driving, or quilt.

5) Is there a story you want to read that hasn’t been written yet?

  • I have some crazy dreams that feel very real but are extremely distorted from waking life, and periodically I think they would make a great story.  I, however, am not a writer. I don’t know that I would say the basic plot  hasn’t already been written but I think the characters haven’t been.

6) Do you eat or drink while you read?

  • Absolutely

7) What’s the strangest place you ever read in?

  • I feel like this is going to turn into a Dr. Seuss moment…”Would you could you on train?  Would you could you on plane? etc.”  The answer is yes to both, but I can’ t think of anyplace I wouldn’t.  I guess I would say I’ve read at the table at a dinner party – ok I was a child and they were my parents friends, but still…it’s not the pillar of courtesy.

8) Your favorite villain gives you a choice: save the fictional world that they’re a part of by killing the hero and be stuck there forever or go back home and the entire world and everyone in it is destroyed. Which do you chose and why?

  • Kill the hero.  I will not be the reason that world dies, but I will at least have the manners to feel bad about it.

9) Favourite childhood book?

  • The Treasure Hunters by Enid Blyton, The Enchanted Forest by Ida Rentoul Outhwaite, East of the Sun West of the Moon, The Twelve Dancing Princesses

10) Do you follow publishing houses for updates?

  • No, but I do follow Netgalley and author blogs

11) What made you get into reading in the first place?

  • My mom taught me when I was young, I loved having books read to me when I was small and there wasn’t always time for them to read to me.  I chose to cut out the middle man. – That does not mean I did not take them up on every opportunity they would read to me.  I still like being read to and I’m an adult.

Questions for my nominees:

1. Why did you create your blog?  Do you have a goal for it?

2.  Do you find yourself driven to watch your stats all the time or do you ignore them for the most part?

3.  Do you invite friends and family to follow your blog or would you rather cut off your hands before they participate

4.  Do you worry about offending people on your blog or do you sometimes post things purposely knowing it will offend people but you like the discussion it brings?

5.  What book do you consistently give as a gift?

6.  What kind of super power would you have if you could pick one?

7.  Do you see yourself as the hero or the sidekick/Do you see yourself as the protagonist or a supporting character in your life?

8.  What do you do as a job in the real world?  If you could blog full time and not have your day job, would you?

9.  Do you prefer flawed characters you don’t always like or pretty characters that consistently do the right, or at least morally right thing?

10.  Do you prefer non-fiction or fiction?

11.  Are you a good liar?  Do you think this is a good thing or a bad thing?

Nominees

From Cover to Cover

Sam Austin Writer

Tenacious Reader

The Lit Room

Little Onion Writes

Daily(w)rite

Bookwraiths

The Avid Reader – books, books, books

Woven Magic

kizzylee

a womans wisdom

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

15 responses to “Liebster Award – Part 2

Comments: Tell me what you think

