Sins of the Father – Thelonious Legend

Sins of the Father

I hear ‘Sins of the Father’ and I think crime novel or mystery/thriller but not a badass middle grade novel about three teenage black girls with superpowers.  That said, as you read the book the title makes perfect sense.  It’s fun and it had me laughing genuinely as an adult without kids.  I hesitate in calling it badass because Thelonious Legend was very age appropriate and had no profanity in the book, but I just can’t find a more appropriate word.

The Parker sisters are affluent, intelligent, and athletic.  They are competitive and excel at what they put their mind to at their private school or in martial arts.  They are no strangers to success, but when their athletic capabilities improve drastically they start to question what is going on.  Gwen has become increasingly strong and Eve can move faster than lightning…ok, not quite that fast, but close.  While Ana’s sisters are going through these physical changes her above normal intelligence has become genius level allowing her to amass a small fortune in off shore accounts from stock trading.  She also is able to comprehend biologically and chemically what is happening to them which is great since the one doctor they went to has no idea what is going on, and died mysteriously after meeting with them.  The race is on to find out what is happening to the Parker sisters for multiple reasons.  These girls want their lives back.  Their powers have made it so they can’t compete for fear of hurting those they care about and because they can’t expose their secret.  They don’t want to be scientific guinea pigs but that isn’t the worst thing that could happen.  They have a clock on them because there are negative physical effects that come with their superpowers.  As the powers increase so does the danger.

Legend’s characters are likable.  They are not stereotypical and kids reading this book will be able to relate not only to the Parker sisters but to their parents, friends, and the rest of the supporting cast.  Another bonus is the characters are diverse.  Friendships cross cultures without it seeming contrived or forced.  Parents, while they are not main characters, play a more active role than several young adult books out there.  They are people who, while not perfect, are role models and appropriate supports to their children.  These girls are confident individuals and, like most teenagers, first try to solve their problems without the help of adults.  What teenager really thinks adults are capable to understand and help their situation?  They do seek support from their parents…eventually…partially.

The writing is good.  It is a middle grade book, however.  The set up is a bit different from an adult book.  The level of detail and introspection is lighter than adult fiction.  As mentioned above, it lacks profanity and sexual material.  There is a light teenage romance but it’s not something concerning for a child of any age to read.  I believe there are two kisses total.  One kiss between the parents showing affection as natural/positive and one chaste kiss between the oldest Parker sister and a boy in her class.  What surprised me and was really enjoyable was the humor.  The Parker sisters are very funny with one another. There was a point I was reading lines aloud to my husband.  He wanted to know what kept making me laugh out loud.  It’s definitely a middle grade book but I would recommend this to adults as well as kids.  If you enjoy superpowers and/or middle grade books I recommend you pick this up.  I dare you not to enjoy it!

About Steph

As C. S. Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” I am an indiscriminate reader. I can find a way to enjoy almost all books. I find they are like people – you can find something endearing in almost every one of them. I love to write reviews. I hope you enjoy them and find them useful. View all posts by Steph

13 responses to “Sins of the Father – Thelonious Legend

  • fromcouchtomoon

    Oh wow, that sounds like an awesome book! I may need to pick it up and keep it in my office for the kiddos at work. (And that author’s name kicks ass, too.)

    And I love it when books make me laugh out loud. My husband is like that, too. He has no interest in fiction but he always wants to know about the parts I’m reacting to.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Steph

      Legends name is absolutely awesome. I think your kiddos at work will really enjoy it.

      Liked by 2 people

    • thelegend01

      If I may interject… Yes it is an awesome book and I would definitely encourage you to pick it up for the office kiddos. Heck pick it for the non-kiddos as well and the want to be kiddos too. It’s just that good! And since I am such a humble, modest, handsome, and magnanimous writer, I would be honored to answer any questions about the book to anyone. Did I mention I was humble?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Steph

        Legend, you are so humble:) All kidding aside I really enjoyed the book. People – this is the author. If you have questions he’s made himself available to you. Thanks for doing that!

        Liked by 1 person

  • thelegend01

    Also fans of the Parker Sisters should know that a hacker sent me some redacted files about our girls. No rest for weary as my mom would say…

    http://theloniouslegend.blogspot.com/p/blog-page_20.html

    Like

  • Molly Mortensen

    Yeah the title is a bit misleading. This sounds like a good book though. I love super powers! I like how there’s a smart one too. I’m glad the parents are actually present too and humor is always a plus!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thelegend01

      The title is not intuitive which is a bit different than being misleading. As Steph says the title actually makes sense once you read the book. But I enjoyed writing it and have been pleasantly surprised by the reviews so far.

      Like

      • Molly Mortensen

        I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to insult you. I only meant that the title didn’t make me think of teenage super heroes. I actually thought your book sounded good and I was going to add it to my to read list.

        Liked by 1 person

      • thelegend01

        Oh no I was not insulted. The title and everything in the book is fair game for criticism. And honestly it’s not the first time I’ve heard that criticism of the title. But as an author there is a delicate balance between doing the necessary things to make your book more marketable be it cover, title, plot and staying to true to yourself and your art. Still searching for the balance but I am definitely enjoying the dialogue.

        Like

  • thelegend01

    Parker Sisters Fans! The writer and director of one of my favorite movies Love&Basketball, just tweeted a picture of my book and says she is looking forward to reading it! She also adpated and directed The Secret Life of Bees, and wrote and directed Beyond The Lights! Could a Parker Sister movie be in the works? Probably not but its still exciting!!

    Liked by 1 person

  • thelegend01

    Reblogged this on theloniouslegend and commented:

    Love this review!

    Liked by 1 person

  • thelegend01

    Love this review so much I would like to give Steph a free ARC(Advanced Reader Copy) of the 2nd book of the trilogy. It should be available middle of June and thanks so much again for this AWESOME review!

    Like

Comments: Tell me what you think

